Today more people put their private information (address, telephone and plastic card numbers) online to do their daily activities (banking, shopping, socializing). Is it a positive or negative development?

In today’s face-paced world, with a growing number of people sharing their personal details including addressm, telephone and plastic card number, as well as online to do their tasks such as banking, shopping and socializing on a daily basis. While I acknowledge the advantages that this trend brings, I still regard that this is generally negative.

There can be some benefits to sharing private information online. One plus point is online stores and social platforms cater to customers with better products or services through the use of personal data. To take an example, online markets offer items which customer usually look for. Another benefit could be related to the problems which a lot of people faced in banking industry. Sharing address and personal information reduce the amount of time which is spent for going to the bank.

Despite the aforementioned beneficial sites, I see this as a negative change in general. An obvious problem is credit card found. Sharing credit card numbers causes stealing money from the card through scamming. It leads to financial damage to the user. Along with this, this is an opportunity topic identify theft. For example, some people may use other people’s personal information as their own and commit crimes. Last but not least this may cause loss of privacy. A lot of social media platforms and various services collect personal data and sell to other companies without your consent.

On a final note, despite some advantages such as saving time or better convince, there are more drawbacks including financial damage or identity theft.