Today, some food travels travel thousands of miles from farms to consumers, Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only eat local food. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the advantages?

There are differing views regarding the boost of country’s economy and environment in case of consuming food which is produced by locals. Many people think that it contains more advantages than disadvantages, while others claim that drawbacks can outweigh plus points.

In the contemporary world, a lot of countries export some food sources throughout thousands of kilometers, overcoming long distances to those cities, where farm industry is not well-developed among locals or face with a lack of certain types of food. One argument in support of the advantages of food travels is that by delivering this kind of product (food) country can gain economical stability as most exports would cost an arm and a leg for the side, which receives them. Cost of delivery, price of food and diverse types of taxes (which is included into bill) are quite expensive for country that receives, but on the opposite, beneficial for the side which exports those items. Therefore, we can certainly admit that every export takes an essential part in your country’s treasury and economics compared to accepting imports.

On the other hand, it is crucial to acknowledge negative aspects for country that purchases majority of imported products from others. We should take into account that export are proceeded and delivered to cities via cars and planes, which have the negative impact on our ecology and environment. It is thought by scientists that percentages of greenhouse gases and carbon dioxide emissions are mostly taken by vehicles that people would use every day, including the special transportation for exports. That would remarkably influence clean air; atmosphere, ground as well as water pollution and so it is considered to be a wreckage of our ecosystems! Moreover, if country provides cities with locally produced food it will not only positively impact on economics, but also will give an opportunity to develop farm industry in certain areas. However, as this situation is not changed by the government, we cannot see the propel of ecological and economical stability!

In conclusion, taking everything into account I tend to think that in some cases disadvantages outweigh advantages.