Today, there are many tasks at home or work that have been done by robots. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, with the emergence of artificial intelligence, a lot of people’ daily tasks can be done automatically by machinery. From my perspective, this replacement can be a mixed blessing, with the benefits prevailing.

On the one hand, the advent of robots in our house may help us complete many household chores, from vacuuming, mopping, to clothes washing, or even meal preparing. Therefore, people’ life can be more convenient, with more time on other aspects such as working or entertaining, thereby increasing their living standard. Besides, in the manufacturing process, with cutting-edge programmed algorithms, robots can complete repetitive tasks faster, with a lower margin of error compared to humans, thereby multiplying the quantity of produced goods and also businesses’ revenue. Furthermore, the replacement of machinery in several dangerous sectors like chemical industry, construction or mining, could prevent laborers from different injuries or respiratory diseases.

However, it is essential to comprehend that together with the aforementioned advantages, there are also some negative effects that robots may cause, especially to the labor force. To be more specific, the machinery replacement in factories can lead to labor redundancy, thereby creating financial burden for both people who became jobless and also the government budget, which has to subsidize them. In addition, the assistance of robots in housework may lead to a sedentary lifestyle since almost all of their tasks are done automatically. As a result, people can lack survival skills, face significant trouble when falling into an unlikely situation without any help.

In conclusion, in spite of several disadvantages to the workforce or people’ lifestyle, I truly believe that the automation in household chores or in the working process still brings more benefits to each individual and also in economic growth by enhancing the companies’ incomes.