Today, there are many tasks at home or work that have been done by robots. Is this a positive or negative development?

Recently, many home and work related tasks are done by robots. I believe that this is a negative development as people get more sedentary and this results in unhealthy lifestyle. However, technology can make life easier for disabled people.

In today’s world, there is a worrying growth of robots being used in every field and every day life. Even simple tasks, such as cleaning and washing clothes, are executed by special robots. As a consequence, people get more and more sedentary. On top of that, they do not go to gym or try to have active lifestyle. Therefore, they cannot burn calories, become obese, and this damages their health. For instance, a big percentage of population is obese nowadays as they do not do physical work as much as people that lived before twenty-first century.

On the other hand, although robots can make healthy people indolent and harm their life, they also can help people with special needs. There are multiple projects that are related towards making life easier for disabled people. This may also help disabled people to live on their own without being dependant. For example, special robot dogs can help blind people coordinate themselves better than trained dogs as they are smarter, and locate obstacles with the help of modern technology and maps.

In conclusion, I believe that home and work tasks that are done by robots can make life much comfortable for not only healthy people but also people with special needs. However, it also may result in harmful obesity and unproductivity that are quite destructive for peoples lives.