Today’s teenagers have a more stressful life than previous generations. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a rising number of teenagers are depressed. This essay will first identify the major reasons that give rise to this problem and then suggest potential solutions.

There are two underlying causes that lead to depression in adolescents. The first reason for the depression is academic pressure. To be specific, high levels of academic pressure, which involve performing or excelling academically and achieving expectations can contribute to feelings of stress and anxiety. Additionally, depression in youngsters is also believed to be the result of economic inequality. Individuals from disadvantaged backgrounds may face financial constraints, and peers can discriminate against them.

Several viable solutions can be implemented to mitigate the aforementioned problems. Firstly, it is advisable for adolescents to set realistic and achievable academic goals based on their abilities and interests. They also can seek assistants from teachers, friends or families if they are struggling with their homework or projects. Secondly, schools should support students who have economic difficulties so they can still attend school without financial pressure and educate students about discrimination and depressio.

In conclusion, depression is caused by a host of factors and some measures need to be taken into consideration to rectify this situation.