Too much emphasis is given to education on the young. More government money should be spent on the free time activity of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The education of young people has been one of the top priorities of many societies, receiving substantial funding and attention. However, some argue that this investment has come at the expense of other important aspects of life such as leisure activities. While I acknowledge the importance of education, I believe that allocating resources to free time activities is equally essential.

Admittedly, there are certain reasons propelling governments to invest more in education, one of them being the development of a country. Without proper education, a country may struggle to develop since the number of intellectual individuals may not be sufficient to fill the country’s important positions, hindering both economic and social development. This case can be seen in Angola, where education is not accessible to everyone, which leads to high literacy rates in this country, eventually slowing the economic growth due to a lack of educated individuals. Moreover, the emphasis on education may result from developed countries. Decent education systems can be seen in most first-class countries such as the USA, China, and the UK, contributing to the success of these countries. Following this, other developing countries may invest more in education with their desire for steady development.

Despite those valid concerns when it comes to education funding, I still believe that leisure activities hold tantamount importance to education. A well-developed education system can facilitate study, however, if the system is not associated with reasonable breaks and leisure activities, students may lose their interest in studying or become exhausted, ultimately affecting students’ academic performance and mental health. Thus, leisure activities are essential to resolve this issue. In addition, students can achieve several crucial skills when taking part in activities at school as school extracurricular events may help students socialize, build friendships, and teamwork as well as emotional intelligence, fostering a sense of belonging and connection, which solely focusing on studying may be unable to provide with.

In conclusion, while education can strengthen the development of a country by educating informed individuals, free time activities can assist students in their mental health and building fundamental skills. Thus, an equal allocation of resources and attention should be distributed to these two areas to ensure the well-rounded development of students and the country.