Topic 3 : The best way to teach children to cooperate is through team sports at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

The ability to cooperate should be encouraged from early years of age. The more children learn to work in team, the more mature they will be. Teaching sports to students through cooperative learning in school is the most appropriate technique because in my opinion, this gesture encourages their team working and sense of togetherness. Grouping students in physical education subject in schools brings two tremendous benefits.

Doing sport in teams gives students a chance to learn to be in a community. They learn how to tolerate their peers, adjust, mingle, and encourage each other. For example, being in a soccer team teaches them to learn to discuss who should be the keeper or strikers. At first, they might experience disagreement, but the more they are encouraged to be in teams, the more they will learn to be more mature to accept a decision.

Additionally, working in teams in a sports class makes it possible for them to achieve a purpose together and reach a maximum result. They should be taught to treat a team as a family. Through this idea the kids will do whatever it takes to win the game. For example, in football, they will protect their friend who runs with the ball from the strike of the other team coming to crush their friend carrying the ball.

In conclusion, I agree that encouraging pupils to do sport in groups which enhances their cooperation brings several positive sides. First, they can develop more mature and positive attitudes related to adjusting and willingly tolerate friends as they will live in a big community later in life. Second, they can be taught to think that being in a team is similar to being in a family for cooperation is used to reach a particular target they share as a family.