TOPIC : Many people think that social media has a negative impact on personal relationships. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Online interaction is harmful for our relationships. I strongly agree to this statement because it lead’s to comparison and it’s addictive . In the upcoming paragraphs I will be shedding light into my opinion.

To begin with, social media makes it easy for us to compare ourselves with others. There are so many posts over the internet, stating relationships that are very splendidly presented. There is a high chance of people being jealous by viewing them. Online posts mostly show up best part of relationships, which convinces people to engage into comparison. Whenever we find others enjoining a better relationship, we start getting jealous and that effects our relationships in a negative way. After that people start figuring out each mistakes, their partner does and that is a reason for increased toxicity. Not only we get more toxic, there are so many individuals who end up getting divorced. Also its not just limited to marital relationships, we can also look into other relationships. For example, in the media we look into news, which claims a dad is buying a car for his son. Now, when another teenager looks into this type of content they start demading that car from their father. When a father fails to do fulfill his son,s demand, the son starts disrespecting his father. Therefore, it is clearly proven that excessive use of virtual world reduces strength in a relationship.

Secondly, social media degrades our relationships cause we often get extremely addicted to it. Whenever we get addicted to it, we start spending less time with our family members. This might result into an additional distance discovered between our loved ones. Any distance can have long term effect in a relationship. This prevents our close friends or any other person we care about from sharing their tragedies, emotions, and their advices with us. Eventually, some friends find new alternatives. For example, a boy is prioritising gaming and keeps playing more ten hours a day. That particular boy gradually starts to ignore his duties, collageues, and etc. He continues to delay his tasks, which insists other persons around him to dislike him, sometimes they just cut off their bond. This proves how poisonous can social media for relationships.

In a nutshell, online platforms are a threat for human relationships, because a normal person easily overuses it and it opens the door for them to look down at their situation. While it has some advantages, it’s down side outweighs it. Finally, people should use social media meticulously and the risks can be prevented.