Traditional cultures will inevitably be lost as technology develops. Technology and traditional culture are incompatible. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Some people are of the opinion that technological development negatively impacts the representation of traditional cultural heritages, and technology and culture are incompatible . Personally, I agree with the negative impact of technology for cultural heritages; however, it is not true that technology is not favourable with culture.

It is partly true that advances in technology have obscured domestic cultural values in recent years. Since technologies allow people to access new things in all aspects of life, particularly various cultures from different nations in the world, people often tend to explore and would like to experience them by oneself instead of traditional values. Consequently, these traditional values fade from view, instead new cultures have been introduced through these technologies, which gradually lead to the loss of cultural identity. For example, through social media platforms, users can access videos relating to new cultures from different nations and neglect their domestic cultures.

However, these advances in technology create more opportunities for domestic cultures to become more popular for residents’ views. In the past, the appearance of cultural values was often domestically, which were not widely known by civilians, particularly those who hadn’t ever known the concept and values of traditional cultures. But today, thanks to technological development, there have been methods to get more popular, like filming videos or uploading pictures on social media. Therefore, this is the main reason why I am convinced that technology is not incompatible with traditional cultures. For instance, an increasing number of teenagers and even governments are embracing these technological methods to promote the beautiful traditional values of cultures, which not only preserve these traditional values, but also contribute to making traditional cultures more sustainable.

In conclusion, although it is partly true that technological advancements can overshadow domestic traditions by drawing people towards exotic lifestyles, I firmly believe that technology and culture are not incompatible. In fact, modern platforms like social media can serve as powerful tools to preserve and promote these beautiful values to a broader audience.