Transportation infrastructure is a major concern for many governments. Some argue that improving public transport should be prioritized, while others believe that building new roads is more beneficial. Debate both views and give your own opinion.

While some people argue that authorities must prioritize on improving the transportation infrastructure services, others believe that building new roads will be more advantageous. It is true that these improvements in transport systems bring more comfort and leisure to the passengers, but I believe that investing in wider roads will reduce traffic congestion.

On the one hand, enhancing local transport services encourages people to travel locally. Consequently, the government gets more finances through tax and travel fares that can be invested in other sources. The locals also benefit from this because with the improvements, they can travel more comfortably. For instance, light rails were recently introduced in inner west Sydney with emerging hospitals in inner parts of Westmead. As a result, medical professionals have been able to reach their workplaces faster avoiding the long walking distance. Moreover, the government has also earned a huge amount of tax from Sydney trains that has been used for other purposes. However, I believe that these benefits are not achievable unless the roads that they run on are improved.

On the other hand, building new roads provides the drivers with multiple route options that reduce heavy traffic. As a result, individuals can reach their destinations faster, without getting stuck. For example, drivers in Sydney have reportedly cut down on travel time due to newly built underground tunnel that connects various suburbs in Sydney avoiding the congested main roads. Therefore, I strongly believe that the leisure of enjoying the renovated transports are not possible unless the road conditions are improved.

In conclusion, even though people argue about why government should focus on improving the transport infrastructure to make travel easier, I believe that those facilities are not fully accessible unless new roads are built.