University education should be free for everyone, regardless of income. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Write at least 250 words.

Recently, whether the tuition fees should be paid in higher education has become an ongoing debate. It is widely contended that all students should be free of charge when enrolling in university education. From my perspective, I disagree with this opinion for several reasons.

I would argue that students should pay for their university education. Firstly, the tendency can strike the value of the learning process. When the amount of money paid for the students’ learning process is allocated for the priorities, students may feel more motivated to excel academically. As a result, students can have a sense of responsibility for their studies, leading to a deeper understanding of the valuable rewards of learning. Secondly, the financial burden on the government to provide free education for all should be sustainable. The government budgets are generally invested in all aspects of human life, such as medicine, the economy, and politics, not just education. Therefore, if university education is provided without paying, there will probably be a significant increase in the amount of money used for other services, putting financial pressure on the government.

There is an assumption that the advantages of free university education should be overlooked. Proponents of free university education suppose that it can instill equal opportunities among students. They may argue that in reality, not all students can afford their studies and may even leave university immediately due to their family background. By removing financial barriers, talented students have a greater opportunity to access higher education, generating the foundations to contribute to society in the future. However, it is not a matter because nowadays, governments increasingly apply many types of scholarships for students dealing with a lack of financial constraints to continue their learning path.

In conclusion, although free university education can bring about a major benefit for students from disadvantaged families, this issue will be addressed by the scholarships from governments. I am convinced that university tuition fees should be paid to alleviate the government’s financial burden and encourage students’ motivation.