Urban areas are expanding rapidly, replacing rural land. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is widely acknowledged that rural territories are transformed to urban areas day by day. Although some may argue that this replacement is negative development due to the environmental phenomenon, I firmly believe that this represents a largely positive development regarding to its significant impact on traffic and employment.

First of all, one of the most significant advantages of the replacement rural land by urban areas is the reduction of congestion. It is obvious that vast majority of the population habitat in the cities which leads to overcrowded areas. Every day hundreds of people commute to work, school, universities using buses, cars and other transportation tools. Replacing some of the rural land by urban areas help to eliminate traffic jams. For example, in Turkey as a consequence of changing the rural areas by urban land traffic congestion has diminished by 5%.

Furthermore, another crucial aspect to consider is its influence on job opportunities. Most people in rural areas tend to move cities in order to get highly paid jobs. By transforming some rural areas into urban lands and oppenning some new work places governments ensure that most people can acquire job without leaving their homes. For instance, people in rural areas do not leave their homeland owing to job as a consequence of which people live within a certain country evenly.

To sum up, I hold the view that reduction of rural land to urban areas is a positive development, as it not only affects traffic jams but also reshapes job opportunities in more fundamental way. Thereby its long-term implications make it particularly significant.