Urbanization can exacerbate social inequalities, creating disparities in access to resources, services, and opportunities among urban dwellers. What social inequalities arise from urbanization, and what measures can be taken to mitigate these inequalities?

The social Inequalities in accessing resources, services and opportunities that generates due to the urbanization is a well know social concern. In my opinion, education, and transport are main sectors that have inequalities in most cities, and number of students who enter higher education, and time duration of traveling certain distance in different areas are best measurements for mitigating these inequalities.

Different categories for secondary schools has been generated via the process of urbanization. For instant, the schools in most developed cities follow the curriculum directly related to the higher education, matching to the university entrance. But schools in under developed areas basically focus on vocational trainings, and life skills, as schools lack much resources, such as modern laboratories, to teach parallel to higher education level. A study conducted at Modern University of Dubai in 2020 has demonstrated that schools situated closer to the capital of the city showed best results in advanced level examination than those who are learned at schools, few kilometers away from the city.

Secondly, transport has made significant inequalities among urban dwellers, as urbanization plans for transportation are not similar in all areas. The trasportation systems are depend on geographical locations and level population in the city. Since, more people prefer to live closer specific ares, such as industrial areas, public transportation in those areas well developed with different modes of travelling such as trains, buses and shuttle services. Comparatively, less occupied areas has one of these systems. As an example, the ministry area of the Muscat city has properly scheduled train and bus service, while other area of the city has no public transportation, only taxi service. Therefore, travelling in ministry area is less time consuming than other areas of the city.