Using a computer everyday can have more negative than positive effects on young children. Do you agree or disagree?

The issue of whether excessive use of computer by younger population is bad has become a topic that has been widely debated. With some people believing that frequent use of computer has more disadvantages than advantages on young children. I strongly agree with this view because it poses the risk of brain damage, reduced productivity and increases the risk of eye problem.

One of the major problems associated with the regular use of computer by children is that it damages their brain development. The increase in screen time for kids has been discouraged a decade ago because of its harmful effect. According to a study done on brain cells activities in children by an American Neurologist in 2023, he noticed an alteration in development of these cells in children who spend a lot of time on computer, which in turn affects the cognitive function of their brain.

Another significant drawback is that it affects productivity. These children find it difficult to concentrate when doing other activities that are important to their growth, such as; academic work. Getting addicted to screen makes it hard to create time for other things. For example, a child who is addicted to gaming, tends to leave school assignment undone to play games which in turn result into poor academic performance.

One final contributing factor to these negative effects is that it increases the risk of eye problems early in life. Younger generation who spend more time on screen frequently get their eyes strained because of the blue light radiating from the computer screen which is harmful to the eyes, it results in an increased eye pressure and blur vision at early stage of life. For instance, a 5 year old child who is used to watching films and playing games on computer regularly tend to have eye glass recommended to him early because of reduced eye function.

In conclusion, younger children who use computer often do a lot of disservice to themselves, this is because of its negative effect on their brain growth, reduced productivity and increased risk of eyes diseases. Therefore, it is advisable to significantly reduce the exposure of children to computer regularly to preserve their health and overall wellbeing.