Water pollution has been an increasing problem over the last few decades. What causes water pollution? How can we prevent this problem?

While water pollution has been increasing over the past few decades, I personally feel that every person living in this world is responsible for this problem. However, factory waste is a big cause of water pollution. Although, everyone should take measures to prevent this major issue by not dumping waste into water bodies.

Undoubtedly, we can say that waste from large industries is thrown into rivers or lakes, which makes the water polluted. Moreover, this trash includes many chemicals and harmful drugs, which makes the rivers polluted. Furthermore, other reasons include global warming, deforestation, fuel spillage, acid rain, and many more. Besides, poisonous water can neither be used for drinking nor for any other use. Also, poor sanitation is linked to the transmission of diseases such as cholera, diarrhoea, typhoid, and polio. Moreover, the discharge of sewage gets mixed with water, which causes water pollution. For example, when people go to the seaside, instead of throwing garbage in bins, they use to throw rubbish on shore. Also, most people throw their home waste into rivers.

Firstly, if we try to minimise the use of pesticides, fertilizers, and herbicides, we can prevent this issue. Secondly, we can try not to dispose of the chemicals, motor oil or other automotive fluids into sanitary sewers, as this ends up mixing into the river. Thirdly, everybody should try to use eco-friendly products, which will be helpful for us and also for our environment. Governments should enforce environmental laws.

To conclude, each person should join hands to stop water contamination. Furthermore, we need to dispose of waste properly and try to follow environmental laws.