Water pollution has been an increasing problem over the last few decades. What causes water pollution? How can we prevent this problem?

Over the past few decades, water pollution has emerged as an increasingly severe issue.In this essay I will discuss the reasons of the primary causes of water pollution and how can we effectively prevent this problem.

How does water pollution occur? In the pursuit of economic development in the modern era, the advancement of industry, while bringing convenience to daily life, results in the discharge of industrial wastewater. Wastewater contains heavy metals, flows into rivers and oceans, causing severe water quality contamination and marine ecosystem degradation. Additionally, the use of pesticides and fertilizers in agricultural practices contributes to groundwater pollution. Certain accidents, such as offshore oil spills, can also lead to significant water pollution incidents.

As a result, governments around the world have begun to regulate the amount of water discharged by industries and the cost of water purification. They also regulate the use of pesticides and fertilizers in agriculture to protect the maintenance of water and soil. In the event of an accident at sea, they will deal with the harm of oil to the marine ecosystem as quickly as possible and assist in cleaning marine organisms accidentally covered with oil to reduce the damage caused by the accident.

In conclusion, there is only one Earth. We should cherish the environment on which we depend for survival. While pursuing economic development, we should also maintain a balance and do our best to restore the water pollution we have caused.