Water pollution has been an increasing problem over the last few decades. What causes water pollution? How can we prevent this problem?

In today’s world, the issue of water resources becoming more polluted over years is a widespread problem. In this essay, I will firstly discuss why it happens and then propose a couple of solutions.

Human activity is a major factor that causes water contamination. To clarify, factories produce an enormous amount of emissions that then get discharged into rivers, lakes and oceans. Not only do these actions poison available water supplies, but they also destroy the natural habitats of marine life. Furthermore, people themselves detrimentally impact the aquatic ecosystem. For instance, they purchase over-packaged products that are not biodegradable. That leads to the fact that most of packaging ends up as pollutant in the water. Therefore, individuals are responsible for their consumption choices.

When it comes to solutions, there are some actions that can be taken in order to prevent the rise of this negative trend. First and foremost, governments should introduce laws and taxes that will limit companies from producing so much waste. Such measures will create a sense of responsibility for industries. Additionally, governments should provide subsidies and other motivation services to encourage gigantic corporations to support the clean water campaign. Moreover, individuals should also be aware of their influence and try to decrease the amount of waste they cause. For example, they can recycle and reuse more.

To sum up, this problem is one of the most crucial ones for humanity today. Although, the reasons are understandable, there are a plenty of solutions people can implement to safeguard water sources for future generations.