We are surrounded by all kinds of advertising, which significantly influence our lives. Do the positive effects of advertising outweigh its negative effects?

Nowadays, it has become easy to see advertising everywhere and this is affecting on us in the right way. Although commercials have brought several benefits, it has also introduced some challenges. However, I believe the disadvantages of promotional content outweigh the advantages.

Admittedly, one of the beneficial sides of advertisings is that it provides useful and significant information to people. Local people during the trip to work or schools could be aware of significant data such as news or new products by means of promotional contents. A well-known example is McDonald, which spreads information about new burgers by commercials. By doing so, they gain attention and provide useful data. Additionally, big companies offer discounts and special deals to gain attention of society by advertising. This kind of commercials interest people to deal with that companies and buy products belonging to that brand. Adidas sport clothes brand can be a great example, they offer seasonally or even monthly offers to people and ensure high quantity of customers for their brand. This in turn can, increase the number of people belonging to one particularly company.

Despite the benefits, the negative sides cannot be ignored. One of the essential drowbacks is that advertisements promote materialism encouraging people to own more than needed. In new generation, people start to buy unnecessary things due to commercials which include interesting offers and products even if it isn’t essential product. For instance, online platform Uzum market worked with placement so well that local residents are buying products from that platform. As a result, people start to own many things despite their efficiency and need. Moreover, one more negative impact from advertising is that it manipulates people to spend their money on stupid products. People become victims of commercials don’t knowing it. For example, new toy which name is Labubu has become so popular that people bought it despite high price. Consequently, advertisements manipulate people to spend their money on something unnecessary.

In conclusion, despite positive sides of commercials, there are negative impact of that on people too. Nevertheless, I think that drowbacks of that are more essential compare to benefits.