We are surrounded by all kinds of advertising, which significantly influence our lives. Do the positive effects of advertising outweigh its negative effects?

At present, the effects of a wide range of advertisements on consumers are becoming a common trend. Although it informs individuals about choices that they have, I believe that the benefits do not outweigh drawbacks because advertisements manipulate people.

It is the options, which the industry of advertisements provides, that present it on a positive side. This is because had we not seen a variety of adverts, we would not be aware of a distinct tools. As a result, it assists people to make right decisions in terms of choosing the same good from different producers. A prime example would be the popular brand of children’s meal, Agusha. Due to its quality, consumers find their advertisements reliable and rarely do they consider other brands. However, on no account must the influence of low-quality goods on people’s perception be overlooked.

One of the disadvantages is that advertisements may have a detrimental effect on consumers’ psychology. This is because individuals, influencing by appealing pictures in the media and television, might purchase even unnecessary items. Hence, it destroyed the financial literacy of people. For instance, many children may ask their parents to buy some toys which they saw in television. Therefore, it has more negative aspects on the budget in the long run and people should avoid them in order to have a better vision of their finance.

In conclusion, even though advertisements provide the different options to consumers that they may not aware of, I believe that it is manipulating aspect on people’s minds that perceived to be its major drawback.