We can learn everything about past through dramas on films and on television. There is no longer need for historical books. Do you agree or disagree ?

In recent years, watching television and films has become increasingly popular, leading some to believe that people can learn new information through them. However, others argue that watching TV is a waste of time, as it does not contribute to acquiring knowledge. I disagree with this statement, as television can be a valuable learning tool.

Admittedly, films and TV dramas have largely replaced the role of historical books. Visual learning is a more effective way to remember historical events because seeing them on screen helps people retain information more easily than reading alone.

Moreover, while books encourage critical thinking by helping readers analyze events and understand causes and effects, films offer an advantage in terms of time efficiency. Watching a film takes only a few hours, whereas reading historical books can take days or even weeks. For example, there are several books about the famous scholar Albert Einstein, but watching the TV series Genius provides key information about his life and discoveries in a shorter time.

On the other hand, watching television brings history to life, since dramas provide more emotions, real life interactions, and sense of how people lived in the past, which books might fail to capture vividly. For instance, the TV series The Crown entails British history to life by portraying queen Elizabeth ii’s reign with realistic dialogues , historical settings and emotional depth. So viewers can see how political decisions affected personal lives, something that might feel less vivid when reading a history book. In spite of other people beliefs, who think that watching films related to history add more fictional elements, leading to misunderstanding about real history, I advocate that they are more engaging and accessible. It is evident that films and dramas make history more exiting and widely available to everyone, including those who who do not enjoy reading, For instance, As a result, they can easily access historical knowledge in an engaging and memorable way, after that it may increase awareness and understanding of past events across a broader audience. In conclusion, while some people people argue that reading is more effective way to learn about history due to encouraging critical thinking as well as authenticity, I personally believe that watching dramas and films about past events are more preferable for people to acquire knowledge deeply and in an interesting way.