Wealth can be perceived from several different aspects in today's world

Wealth can be perceived from several different aspects in today’s world. Though the primary meaning is money, some other facets can also be knowledge, health and in rare cases, reputation (goodwill). Let us dive deep in each of these aspects to determine whether it is essential for happiness.

Money is easily the most powerful agent in a commercial society. The more you have the better your chances of survival, in fact one lives in luxury. However, to reach this level one needs to put in a lot of effort, time and toil from stress before they can be on a pedestal of comfort, let alone luxury. Lets put in some more thought before concluding on the verdict.

Knowledge is a great asset not only in a commercial, but also in a competitive society. While money has to be earned, it can also be inherited. Knowledge on the other hand, must be earned through various sources. Knowledge is considered as an enriching experience, and one has a higher status with more knowledge. In retrospect, not all knowledge gives happiness. For example, knowing one’s limitations or drawbacks that cannot be worked upon is a spirit dampening experience that steals happiness.

We are all aware of the saying ‘Health is Wealth.’ We trust this blindly in today’s fast food ridden community. Easy said than done because gaining great health, both physical and mental requires a great deal of inputs. Inputs that are both physical and mental. Similarly, reputation too can be positive or negative.

I would therefore like to conclude that for me, contention is happiness. A decent mix of all these aspects. Regardless of whether I own luxury, exponential knowledge or the physique of a Greek god.