Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance, such as food and housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is argued whether nations with larger resources and opportunities are responsible for supplying shelter and basic support to refugees. I completely agree with this view, as governments that possess the financial capacity to offer aid have a moral obligation to do so; furthermore, affluent countries can benefit from this process due to a potential economic and demographic boost.

The primary reason why prosperous countries have to bear the responsibility for providing help to refugees is moral and humanitarian duty. They have the financial stability, infrastructure, and resources to offer sanctuary to vulnerable populations who suffer from wars, armed conflicts, or natural disasters. Countries with the means must prioritize humanitarian assistance for those affected by nearby atrocities. Even today, many European countries are mobilizing their national resources in order to render aid to refugees from Ukraine, especially children who were displaced during that ongoing armed conflict.

The second main reason why I assume that global powers should provide a lifeline to ravaged communities is the fact that they will also benefit from the process. Now, many wealthy nations face a decline in populations and workforce scarcity. Refugees can fill critical labor shortages, pay taxes, and stimulate economic growth once they are integrated into the workforce. Undeniably, accepting refugees and integrating them into social life will have a beneficial impact on the country’s economic and demographic conditions.

To conclude, high-income countries carry the obligation to help ravaged communities.