Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance, such as food and housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that prosperous countries should welcome more refugees and assist them with basic necessities. I completely agree with this statement because it can reduce the suffering of refugees and demonstrates a nation’s social responsibility while bringing long-term benefits to the host country.

One primary reason why rich nations should support refugees is that doing so can help decrease the hardship that they are facing. Refugees are often forced to leave their homes due to war or persecution, so they normally suffer from lack of basic needs. Hence, providing assistance such as housing and food can help them rebuild their lives. Providing humanitarian support can significantly improve their quality of life.

Another reason is that it demonstrates a willingness to take action to solve social issues, which allows wealthy nations to contribute positively. Instead of countries spending the national budget on less important matters, giving aid not only earns recognition and appreciation from other countries but also creates a ripple effect. By providing essentials to the refugees, they can eventually contribute to the workforce and pay taxes, thereby bringing long-term economic and social benefits to the nation.For example, refugees who are given access to education and job opportunities can become financially independent and integrate successfully into society.

In summary, although some people think that high-income countries should focus on their own development and well-being, I strongly believe that accepting more asylum seekers allows nations to address refugee issues, reflect social responsibility and generate long-term economic and social benefits for the host nation.