Weddings are getting bigger and more expensive. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, getting married has become a more costly tradition for individuals across the globe. The reasons behind this topic and the author’s perspectives on marriage development will be elaborated further throughout the essay.

The first reason why this ritual has become pricey is that the idea of materialism has expanded among various communities over time. This idea drives people to be attached to luxurious commodities and facilities because they signify prosperity and enhance the socioeconomic status of anyone who possesses them. Therefore, in the present-day wedding ceremonies, there will be fancy decorations such as multi-layer cakes, shiny chandeliers, colour-changing fountains, and gigantic carved ice statues. Moreover, there are also incorporated themes for the couples to choose from to surprise or entertain their guests, namely, the wizarding world, Wonderland, concert-like, jungle adventures, etc. The second reason is that numerous people support the idea that the bigger the wedding is, the greater the love and hospitality are, since executing a wedding that involves a large group of people requires great efforts and funding. The groom and the bride have to ensure there are sufficient food and amenities to create priceless and memorable experiences for their guests, so not only do they need to pay extra, but they also need to check if the guests enjoy their moment or not.

Focusing on the author’s perspective concerning the marriage development, the author tends to agree that it is a regressive development or negative advance because the original concept of the wedding ceremony is to announce the love between two human beings, not their social or financial status. The fact that countless couples tirelessly satisfy their guests and relatives by losing a massive amount of money on the wedding preparation will hurt them in the long run. For instance, the pleasant feeling of the host will be replaced by worry and anxiety from the beginning until the end of the day. Furthermore, the unnecessary budget spent on the wedding can cause financial instability for the new family in the community and lead to more household debts in the economy.

To conclude, grand wedding ceremonies are created from the idea of materialism and the support of expressing love and hospitality, which causes the couples to be unpleasant and worrisome because they need to put both financial and physical efforts into running the event. Besides, they will be financially unstable after holding the ritual if there is no proper planning. Therefore, couples may need to readjust their needs towards the ritual, either to make it extravagant for everyone or make it special and invaluable merely for the two.