Weddings are getting bigger and more expensive. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In our modern era weddings are becoming larger and more expensive than in the past. Social media influence and materialism are the main reasons for this tendency and I believe this is highly negative trend as it is a financial burden for the family.

One of the reasons why people are becoming more obsessed with large weddings is social media. To clarify, many people, especially youngsters, watch luxurious lifestyle and parties of other people at their age on Instagram and Tik Tok and try to imitate them. This can cause to organize big parties on their wedding day, which cost them a fortune. Moreover, most couples today see the weddings as once in a lifetime event and spend almost all the money they have earned for a long time. Materialism is another cause for this trend. Some cultures tend to show off their wealth in their weddings in order to gain respect and high social status among the people in their community. Central Asian people can be a prime example to this.

The tendency of organizing large and expensive weddings is highly disadvantageous as it causes financial pressure for a family after the event. As people spend nearly all their fortune in a single day, they might struggle to meet the expenses further after the wedding. This becomes an extra challenge especially for the new couple. Since some even borrow money from their friends or relatives to meet expectations, the couples will have to start their life with debts. In addition, such luxurious events might hinder the true meaning of the wedding, which is commitment and true love in life. Couples may think the luxury is more important in their life than the real and strong relationship. This kind of mindset and expectations can affect their further life.

In conclusion, while social media influence and materialism are the primary causes of bigger and expensive weddings, this is definitely negative as it causes financial challenges and affects relationships.