Weddings are more expensive than the past.why and is is positive development

These days, wedding ceremonies are becoming far more costly than in the previous times. While it can be attributed to the fact that people are overspending on them and considering them as a symbol of status, I believe that this mainly results in negative outcomes.

One of the major drivers of this phenomenon would be people’s desires to compete with each other by showing off their luxury and wealth. Thus, it is a symbol of status in many nations. Furthermore, individuals are overexpending on first ceremonies in order to give them an elegant look. For instance, majority are opting for popular artistic bands, luxurious restaurants with wide-ranged menu, and they are likely to be expensive. With all these, they want to win reputation and fame among others.

However, I tend to consider this phenomenon as a negative development due to some factors. First and foremost, luxury preparation for one-day wedding would be a waste of resources. For instance, it is feasible that all of the dishes may not be consumed in one day even by a large number of guests, and for the next day meals might expire and not valid for consumption and have to be thrown away. Hence, it is a possible waste of ingredients, money, and effort of those who spend hours to serve every dish with special attention and care for guests. Furthermore, organizing expensive weddings are on the brink of becoming a tradition. If this tradition lasts for next generations, that can be the higher rank for the damaging effects of consumerism on the environment. Next generation may end up with no food resources left due to overconsumption.

To conclude, the reasons behind this trend are the competitive society and over-expenditure of resources, and this disadvantageous trend can lead to waste of food sources and disruption of environment.