What are the advantages and disadvantages of preservatives in food?

In modern society, using preservatives in food has become more common. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages associated with this issue before reaching a conclusion

On the one hand, there are some clear positive aspects. First, preservatives in foods help extend the shelf life of foods. This is mainly because preservatives prevent harmful factors, which can impact on food quality. As a result, foods can protect and spoil more slowly, which makes it more convenient for users. Second, preserving foods longer can bring financial resources for producers. Each area has different traditional foods, which is difficult to export to other areas. Preservatives help products exporting to many countries, which can be sold with high prices; therefore, it contributes to national development. For example, in France, cheese often has a suitable amount of preservatives to preserve longer to export to Vietnam with high prices, which supports the improvement of French development.

On the other hand, preservatives in food come with drawbacks. To begin with, foods have preservatives, which can affect the environment. Processed foods often need packages to preserve, especially plastic, so the demand for packaged foods increases sharply, which contributes to environmental pollution. Moreover, additions can negatively impact users’ health. This is the fact that some foods have a large amount of additions, which may surpass the suitable percentage. These products have little nutrients such as proteins and vitamins, so people can have diseases if they consume many chemicals regularly. For instance, snacks usually have a lot of fat, which are children’s favourite foods. When they eat snacks regularly, they can face obesity.

On balance, preservatives in foods have both benefits and drawbacks. Therefore, it is crucial for people to be aware of these positive and negative aspects.