What are the advantages and disadvantages of shopping online compared to shopping in physical stores.

The internet has changed lifestyle of people globally including shopping. At a click of button now we can buy almost anything and get delivered it you address. Although it is convenient it has certain drawbacks. This essay aims to discuss advantages and disadvantages of online shopping phenomenon.

There are numerous advantages to the online shopping, Firstly, consumers can access the market whenever and wherever they want. For instance, if someone wished to buy a camera during midnight in a rural area he can just order it from his phone. Shopper doesnt need to wait for the stores to open or travel to the shop. Another advantage is that access to wide range of products from all around the world. Like back in the days we were just limited to what our local stores offered but today we have huge amount of options to choose from.

Despite the conveniences online shopping is not without its disadvantages. One such disadvantage is driving local stores out of business. Local business are finding it hard to find customers as it cannot compete with prices that online giants are offering. This will create monopoly in the market and negatively affects the consumers. Additionally, consumers are more prone to scams in online shopping. Sometimes, people receive substandard products or products different from what was shown in the site. There are lot of fake sites also popped up which has misled and tricked people.

This essay discussed both the advantages and the disadvantages of online shopping. In conclusion, while online shopping has enormous advantages, the downsides should not be ignored.