What are the advantages and disadvantages of SMS and messaging apps?

In recent years, more and more people are choosing to communicate in online format such as SMS and messaging apps. This choice has both benefits and drawbacks.

The main advantage of using SMS and messaging apps is time. When people communicate face to face, they spend a lot of time, because they need to do many things before the meeting. In addition, messaging apps help conduct a dialogue anywhere and with any person. For example, if a human needs to ask his mother, who lives in another country, how she is, he can write an SMS.

On the other hand, using SMS and messaging apps also has disadvantages. The first drawback is that in the modern world more and more people choose to communicate only on their phones. For instance, a young man went to a restaurant with a beautiful girl, but all evening they did not speak because they felt uncomfortable. They only looked at their phones. Moreover, communication on messaging apps is less emotional than face-to-face communication.

In conclusion, despite the fact that using SMS and messaging apps has a few negative aspects such as less face to face communication and emotional contact, I believe that online communication can be useful, if people do not use messaging apps all the time.