What are the advantages and disadvantages of SMS and messaging apps?

Nowadays it is hard to imagine interpersonal communication without variable ways of text messaging: from simple SMS to messaging apps with lots of features. It seems that the popularity of this method of exchanging information did not come out of nowhere: a huge number of people find it convenient and swift. However, the safety side of text messaging still remains unclear and raises concerns.

The modern messaging technologies seem to have significant influence on the way people interact with each other, making this process faster than ever and blurring the geographical boundaries. Never before had it been so easy for one to keep in touch with colleagues, friends and relatives, even if they are faraway. For example, as a nonresident student, texting through messengers is the most appropriate way to maintain ties with loved ones from my hometown.

Probably, every technological advancement has downshifts connected with security, and exchanging messages is not an exception. When one sends a text message there is no guarantee that it can not be read by mobile providers, messenger app developers or governmental structures. Also, news about digital leaks and security breaches rising up now give even more strong reason to worry about sensitive information while texting through messaging apps or SMS.

Summing everything up, it probably would be unfair to say that sharing information through messages is inconvenient or unneeded technology, but the problem of keeping users personal data safe is still a hot-button issue and can not be denied.