What motivates people to migrate to cities, and what effects does urbanization have on society?

Many people have been migrated to cities for decades, and the motivation of them is various. Then, the urbanization has affected on society in multiple terms. In this essay, I will discuss the motivation to migrate to cities and its effects on society.

One of the main motivation of the migration from countryside to cities is to look for jobs. Although the number of jobs in countryside is quite limited, cities offer a variety of jobs to people. Actually, most big companies place their offices in cities, and those who are eager to earn more money are likely to move to cities. There are not only various full-time jobs but also a huge number of part-time jobs in cities, so people living there don’t need to suffer from getting jobs comparing to those in countryside, not depending on their ages, sex, and nationality.

Another reason to move to cities is that urban atmosphere is attractive, especially for younger people. Some people feel bored to live in countryside, because there are few places they can enjoy; it is noted that how to think of living in countryside is up to individuals. Anyway, for such people, cities are much more attractive than countryside. There are lots of attractions, such as movie theaters, brand shops, and art museums. Most of events are held in cities, so those living in countryside are hard to go such events. Therefore, some people living in countryside consider that cities are much more enjoyable, and want to live there.

As a result of migration to cities, urbanization gives some effects on society. One of the serious effects is the large difference between the population density of cities and that of countryside. Population in cities has increased significantly for years, and crowds often annoy people living in cities, especially when using public transportation. On the other hand, population in countryside have decreased seriously, and aging society has been accelerated. Many areas in countryside are devastated and hard to develop again.

In conclusion, the huge migration to cities has proceeded for cities, because of a variety of jobs and attractions in cities, but it has serious effects on society like crowds in cities and declining countryside.