When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this day and age, technological development affects human daily life in many fields. Some people say that these changes have led to the destruction of old values loss of traditional lifestyles and skills. From my perspective, I disagree with the statement about the pointlessness of traditional skills and lifestyle preservation.

In daily lives, the improvement of technology brought transformation in peoples’ aesthetic styles, with the innovation and modernization of fashion styles from classical ones. Non La, for instance, one of the Vietnamese traditional items in the old era, is being replaced with many other high-fashioned hats with more sophisticated designs or advanced materials. Furthermore, many traditional craft villages are gradually being forgotten by the appearance of many high-tech items and automatic machines that are more convenient, faster, and have higher accuracy in the production of goods.

On the other hand, people can deny the vital roles of traditional skills and old lifestyles as a cultural heritage. Many traditional skills such as hand embroidery, hat knitting, and incense making have been accumulated and developed from the experiences of previous generations and all of them were a part of any country’s history. Moreover, these values include traditional customs and handcraft also represent the national identity and culture of each country to which they belong, contributing to the unique cultural diversity in those countries. In the economy and tourism field, traditional craft villages can be an attractive destination for tourists and create more opportunities for local residents to earn income, and have a hand in the promotion of indigenous cultural aspects.

To conclude, changes in normal life caused by the development of technology are inevitable, but these advances cannot replace the position of traditional values in everyone’s lives in both economic benefits and spiritual well-being.