When a country gets richer, cities often benefit more than the countryside. What problems can this cause, and how can we solve them?

It is common that urban residents receive more considerable advantages than rural residents when a country generates more money. There are two serious problems that can be attributed and two solutions can be taken to deal with them.

To begin with, the gap between the rich and the poor can be widening and the overpopulation in metropolitans can be created since the countryside has less benefit. Specifically ,when the advantages appear, the urban areas which are more sensitive can get the opportunities to earn money. Therefore, the average income of urban residents will be higher than rural, which can directly lead to different people’s quality of life and the rich and poor gap. Additionally, people from other areas emigrate to the metropolitan because of the more opportunities to find jobs and better accessibility of quality education. As a result, the number of citizens increases significantly. At the same time, the competitiveness between local residents and immigrants in work and education also becomes more intense.

However, to further solve the above issues, accommodation allocation can be applied by governments. Initially, the official bodies are required to allocate the accommodation to spread evenly throughout the areas. Hence, the level of development in every area can be balanced because jobs and education opportunities also can be spread evenly with the accommodation. For instance, suburbs can be donated to construct and open specialized schools and universities to allow students to have access to advanced education. Then, students can continue to study and work in their hometown.

In conclusion, incentives from a nation’s development to urban areas have a negative impact on not only the poor and rich gap but also the overcrowding. To solve them, governments should spread out the accommodation for balancing the development purpose.