When new towns are planned, it is important to build more public parks or sports facilities than shopping centres for people to spend their free time. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, when a new town is developed, public parks and sports facilities take priority over shopping malls. From my standpoint, I totally agree with this statement and my opinion will be discussed in the essay below.

On the one hand, as green spaces and sports facilities are erected, health awareness of people will be enhanced. It creates more opportunities for people to engage in physical activities such as walking, cycling, meditation, and so on, which has significant benefits for their health. Take the Sports center in HCM city as a prime example, it provides a number of sports classes with quality instruction which attracts many people to take part in. As a result, public parks and sports facilities help people have a place to alleviate stress and promote mental well-being. Moreover, parks also reduce air pollution due to its closeness to nature. In the urban city, these parks and sports centers yield beneficial influences to contribute to being a friendly city. It provides habitats for the wildlife, overall ecological balance and reduces heat waves, making cities more liveable. In addition, the cost of building public parks and sports facilities are economical, easy to implement. Therefore, people can easily participate in many activities with affordable and low maintenance fees.

On the other hand, though the benefits of shopping malls are constructed, they also have an adverse impact on people’s lives. Building excessive shopping centers requires a large amount of space which leads to the degradation of the environment. For instance, one of the causes of traffic congestion in SaiGon is that dwellers often go to shopping malls at peak hours, which trigger noise and light pollution. Besides, the expenses of building shopping malls are exorbitant which leads to social discrimination between poor and rich.

In short, i would argue that government should focus on developing public parks and sports facilities than shopping malls because of the positives from health to economics.