When performing an unfamiliar task, should we watch experienced colleagues or read instructional documents

In the workplace environment, people sometimes cope with tasks that do not look familiar to them. In this situation, I believe people should seek help from their colleagues rather than look up instructions from documents. In this essay, I will give the specific reasons behind this opinion.

First, relying on seasoned colleagues will aid people in saving time to finish tasks. Indeed, it’s often that seasoned employees have worked in the company for a long time and they confronted various assignments before. Therefore, those people gained a lot of insight into addressing given tasks efficiently. Thus, when we ask for assistance, they can come up with instant and proper solutions. For example, a person who excels in using Microsoft Office is usually willing to give their colleagues a handle who are clueless about applying formulas or formatting spreadsheets in Microsoft Excel. This kind of support not only helps them complete assigned missions more quickly but also enhances motivation for working. By contrast, if people follow instructions from papers or videos to tackle assigned tasks, they have to spend a prolonged period on seeking instructional information. Hence, reducing productivity and efficiency in their work.

Beyond that, when people in workplace environments learn and support mutually, it can improve companionship between them. In fact, turning to coworkers with experience can help naturally create opportunities for communication and collaboration. To be specific, when people communicate and support each other, it facilitates reciprocal interactions between them. This not only aids them in understanding each other but also builds a friendly and supportive working environment, thereby fostering rapport and cohesion among workers. Conversely, merely attempting to refer to documents providing guidelines rather than turning to other individuals at work can lead to isolation and disconnection, making the working environment more stressful and exhausting.

In conclusion, I think that people should watch experienced coworkers rather than read instructional documents when performing unfamiliar tasks because of the aforementioned reasons.