While people in developing countries are happier than in the past, people in developed countries are less happy. Why? What can be learnt from this?

Nowadays, citizens living in wealthy nations are becoming less happy than in the past. In contrast, people living in less developed countries seem to feel happier. There are some reasons for this situation, and some lessons can be drawn from this phenomenon.

There are various reasons for this phenomenon. It is undeniable that the rapid growth of the economy can be considered the main factor leading to the higher quality of people residing in developed nations. They can earn more money, reducing the stress about paying bills. As a result, they escape from poverty, improving their life’s quality and enjoying their lives happily. On the other hand, affluent countries’ inhabitants have realized that money cannot provide a happy life for them or even they have to suffer from mental health issues. For example, workers in the US frequently undergo hectic working schedules, lacking relaxation so they might get depression.

Therefore, we can deduce two valuable lessons about happiness from this situation. Firstly, people should focus on maintaining their work-life balance to avoid a great deal of mental health problems such as depression and anxiety disorders. Furthermore, governments also should invest in addressing environmental issues to protect inhabitants from negative impacts. Consequently, residents can live in a fresh atmosphere, resulting in a better life and they feel happier.

In conclusion, some reasons mentioned above explain why people living in rich and developing nations have different levels of happiness, from which it has two precious lessons that achieving balance and environmental protection are vital to human well-being.