While some people say increasing life expectancy is a good thing, others believe it could have negative consequences. What do you think about this subject?

Over the last few decades, the technological development of humanity has increased tremendously. These shifts lead to vast differences in people’s lives, such as transportation opportunities, new consumption habits, educational benefits and better health conditions. Thanks to better health conditions, average life expectancy has lengthened inevitably. At a glance, this consequence seems wonderful for all humanity. However, lengthened lifespan is argued to whether affect positively or adversely. This debate is obviously a controversial issue. From my point of view, having a remarkable life expectancy has irreversible effects related to family customs and workplace conditions.

Since relationships between family members or couples are complex issues, longer lifespans might lead to peculiar results. Since people cannot live without communication, they have a tendency to get in touch with each other all the time. This might also have interesting impacts on marriages. If people live 150 years, they might not be together with the same person because of their nature, and which might lead to multiple marriages. Therefore, there would be more half-siblings and more age differences between these siblings. Because of this reason, children of new generations might have misunderstandings about what parenthood or brotherhood is. This can change the perception of family relationships and customs. For instance, family ties may weaken, and individuality may become more prevalent. In brief, there is a correlation between living longer and the concept of family, and they can significantly influence each other.

Another immensely important part of life that can be affected by a longer life expectancy is the workplace. Longer lifespans can affect workplaces both positively and adversely. If people retire late, this provides companies with more experienced and wise labour. These qualified employees can contribute to productivity, leading to more profit. On the other hand, this scenario can cause less mobility in business life. As people can work approximately twice as long as now, employers won’t need new faces for a long time. Less often recruitment probably leads to higher unemployment rates especially among the youth, and because of this young people will suffer both economically and mentally. Moreover, it is feasible that there can be tension between young people and older people, which generates a wide range of social problems. In addition, these people won’t be just workers. They can be judge, minister, lawyer, deputy or manager. Such positions are very crucial for the welfare of society. Occupying these chairs for a long can easily cause power poisoning and malfeasance. Hence, disasters may occur for the mechanisms of society.

In conclusion, even if lengthened lifespans seem attractive opportunity, it may cause unpredictable consequences. Family structure and business life are two potential areas that can directly and comprehensively affect people’s lives. People should be aware of these prospective results and should think wisely while making decisions in such areas.