With divorce rates and family breakdowns increasing globally, it is generally accepted that families today are not as close as they used to be. Discuss the causes of this problem and offer some possible solutions to it

It is argued that a number of countries have been seeing increases in divorce rates. While the reasons for this trend vary, I believe that it can have further implications for the society and its families.

First of all, it is essential to recognize the underlying factors to the go-ups in divorce frequencies. Primarily, adults of this generation do not tend to have in-depth consideration before marriage. That is to say, they mostly believe in their love and have a marriage without carefully thinking about its consequences on their later lives; they treat this topic as though it is not long-lasting and wont have any significant impact in their lives. Afterwards, as they figure out other “red flags”in their partners, they might change their minds about their life together and eventually opt for divorce. Another equally significant factor is likely to be increased self-respect in people of this modern era. Reading self-development books and taking online therapies are becoming especially common for many people. This, in turn, leads to a different mindset in them. For instance, while in the past few decades, a few insults by one’s partner didn’t matter that much and moving on was seen as more favorable, today’s people know their value, and thus they tend to do their best to not allow anyone to let them down- even if it requires lifelong separation from each other.

With regards to the likely consequences of this trend in question, the first and foremost one pertains to the other family members, children in particular. Witnessing their parents’ divorce, they will not likely grow up in a healthy family environment. If they live in their father’s house one day and another day in their mother’s, it might create emptiness in their minds along with potential mental health issues. To illustrate, it has been shown by scientists that children whose parents divorced in their childhood suffer from anxiety, overthinking, and depression more frequently than normal people. On a broad level, these rates may work for the detriment of community as a whole. Precisely speaking, as the number of people who choose divorce increases, it becomes common in a community as more people start seeing it as an inevitable part of marriage, leading to chain-effect. As a result, there will be little to no healthy relationships in a community.

To sum up, whereas the causes of this trend, such as lack of thorough thinking and improved self-esteem in people, must be mentioned, it can pose serious implications in the future.