With growing number of population in cities, many people are living in small homes that don't have outdoor spaces. Is it positive or negative improvement?

It is indeed becoming increasingly popular for individuals to live in tiny homes that have no access to outdoor spaces in recent years. While this new development can sometimes be beneficial, in my view, it is more likely to be detrimental overall.

There are indeed several benefits of small-space living. The main one is lower housing costs. This is because smaller houses are more affordable, in comparison to bigger houses. This can be highly beneficial for low-income families living in cities. Another key benefit of compact homes is reduced carbon footprint. Smaller homes require less energy for heating/cooling, and high-density living reduces car dependency, lowering emissions.

Despite the benefits described above, I strongly believe that the potential problems of small homes are more significant in comparison. First and foremost, in cities will be limited play areas for children. They need space for physical activity and creativity, such as playgrounds. Without it or nearby parks, their development may be hindered. Individuals also face mental health issues. Studies show that cramped living conditions can increase stress, depression, and feelings of isolation. Without access to private outdoor areas, people may feel trapped indoors.

In conclusion, although the growing trend toward houses without any outdoor spaces can be advantageous in some ways, especially in terms of economy, and money saving, it seems to me that its overall impact is more likely to be harmful for the reasons discussed above.