With more people attending college now than ever before, a college degree is losing its value as a job-seeking tool. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people worldwide have the access to higher education. Some say that acquiring a university qualification is no longer a strong tool in the job market. In my opinion, I can’t deny that a collage degree is losing its competitiveness, however, it does not mean that it is not useful.

On one hand, while overall global economy is on its rise, more and more family are able to support their next generation to accomplish academic study, particularly university education. This means that after this young adults graduate, they will find it challenging to look for a satisfying job as millions of their counterparts are also seeking for work at the same time. Therefore, these graduations can not rely merely on their degrees and qualifications to win their future employers’ appreciations and opportunities. What they have to do is to be competitive, for example, enhancing their personal ability and developing extra skills. From this perspective, it seems that a collage degree has lost its effectiveness in one’s career path.

On the other hand, many jobs in the job market are actually high-demanding, which require the work performers are not only skillful, but also knowledgeable. For example, if one would like to be a doctor, he or she must receive a no less than five-year medical study and an one-year practical replacement in China. Do you think a patient would trust a doctor who only finishes high school to operate their treatment? It is obvious that numerous occupations are specializing works, such as lawyers, chemists, and engineers, etc. Hence, a collage degree plays an essential role in selecting right people for these positions, eliminating those who are not even qualified for the certain jobs.

In sum, it is undeniable that a college degree is not a guarantee for one’s career development, but without the proof of educational certifications, one can not even work in a certain industries that needs the employees to meet high requirements.