WITH THE ADVANCEMENT OF ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE , PEOPLE WILL WORK LESS AND HAVE MORE FREE TIME . TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE WITH THIS STATEMENT.

Artificial intelligence has become a significant resource for contemporary society. It is increasingly argued that the recent developments in Artificial intelligence will ease people’s workload and allow them more leisure time. While AI has undoubtedly increased productivity and efficiency, I disagree that this will reduce working hours, as employees are often expected to take on greater responsibility roles, while certain skilled professions still require human judgement and oversight.

Firstly, technological gains aim to enhance productivity by automating repetitve or less complicated tasks, without reducing employees’ working hours. When AI enables workers to complete their tasks more quickly, companies may expect to use these saved hours to take on additional tasks and generate higher output. The prime example of this could be manufacturing industries, such as those in Japan, where the implementation of robotic technology has automated the packaging process, while workers have been reassigned to supervisory roles, including monitoring multiple production lines and inspecting product quality and safety, both of which demand significant concentration and time.

On the other hand, a central concern is that AI cannot completely eliminate human involvement, especially for judgemental based job roles. This pattern is closely linked to skilled professions such as medicine or law where AI can reduce work burden to some extent by assisting in tasks such as data analysis, highlighting relevant sections and drafting documents; however, in the end, final decisions necessitate human judgement, accountability and ability to cope with unpredictable situations. Moreover, with regard to accuracy, AI can also make errors; professionals might spend additional time reviewing and correcting automated outputs, which offsets much of the time that was saved initially, rather than freeing up hours.

In conclusion, I disagree that AI will necessarily lead to fewer working hours and more personal time as historical patterns of rising expectations, combined with the ongoing need for human oversight of AI systems show that any time saved is likely to be reinvested into other work commitments, rather than genuine free time.