With the advancement of information and communication technologies (ICT), there is a rising demand for digital government innovation. Examine the main obstacles and challenges your country faces in transitioning toward a digital government. Discuss strategies to overcome these challenges and propose policy directions to ensure a more inclusive, transparent, and efficient digital governance system.

Information and communication technologies is more important to the contxt of country. This is rasing its demands in various sectors. With the digital transformation, information and communication technologies creates more validity and importance to the public sector, private sector and the community in a country. Among these sectors, the public sector is plays a crutial role in a society. Since, the public sector represents the profile of a country in economically, politically, and diplomatically, the importance of responsiveness, transparency, accountability, trustworthy of public sector need to clearly identified. Accordingly, creation of a digital governance is more valuable to achieve these targets to serve the public.

The importance of information and communication technologies has been increased with the advancement of digital transformation. We can see the increase in capacity of the information and communication technologies usage in many ways. Consulting this situation, the demand for digital governemtn innovation is raising because of the advancement of information and communication technologies in globally. Since this technology facilities are helps to smooth our life activities, the government needs to vell address the capability of using the facility effectively.

In Sri Lanka, the government is now taking steps to move into digital government systems to deliver more transperant, trustworthy, effectient public service. In the 2025 budget, the government has been allocations fund to create a digital centralized government facilities to enhance the quality of public service and aim to move forward with the support of technology. Also, the govenement has been planning policies and stratergies to promote information and communication technologites through like education, trade and investement, health, social and welfare sectors. In current position of the Sri Lankan gorvermnent, the information and communication technologies is being used in various sectors to enhance and fulfill the socio-econimic well being. Creating digital access to government systems to idenfty the progresses of trade registrations, imort and exports, education systems, health sector etc. in addition to that the government has been involved with the private sectors and other communities like NGO’s, other prties who play a major role in the society. This engagement is show massive improvement in public management since it is help to create a digitalized e-government systemnts to serve the public efficiently.

Even the government aims to enhance the transparency, trustworthy, inclusive government systems, as a country we are facing some challenges tha need to be addressed and indenfied by the government. One of the most significant challenges is lack of knowledge. Althorugh sri lanak have high literacy, the knowledge in technologies shows general rate when we considered. Especillay in rural areas. Something we found difficulties even we introduce e-service systems. On the other hand, some aged-citizens more preffered traditional public sysetms comparing ot others. Secondly, the difficulties to acces to technology is a significanct challenge in sri lanka. Since there is problems in coverage of technologies interuptions have been increased.

In conlusion, to address all these challenges, the government needs to be pay the attention to the gap that already identified with engaging private sector and community support to enhance the quality of delivering public service efficiently. The education policy reforms need to be addressed to ehnace the knowledge in technology. In addition to that the prevailing policies that can be improved through the support of technology need to be identified and addressed by implementing new policy stratergies and reforms to deliver transparent, invlusive, efficient governance service to the public.