With the advent of modern technology, access to information is considered by some to be a replacement for education. However, others have argued that technology has called into question the reliability and accuracy of knowledge such that there is a greater need for education. To what extent should technology change our concept of education in the 21st century?

For the last 20 years, the technologies developed sharply and are holding this exponential tempo which enormously affects education. In comparison with previous generations, present adolescents have more access to education and information. Some argue that these technologies will limit the accuracy and quality of education, while others claim that modern technologies and access to information can be a replacement for education. This essay will explore both sides and the concept of education in the 21st century.

Today, the internet and artificial intelligence opens a huge range of perspectives and opportunities in education. They can serve as a base of data and information, teacher or assistant which helps to obtain and learn new information. For example, artificial intelligence can explain any complex topics or the internet in which students can find any needed information. So, all of these features can be a replacement for modern technologies.

On the other hand, it can be hard for students to work with not sorted data and the huge range of information can confuse students which can lead to procrastination. Also, some students can struggle with understanding of complex tasks and exercises. While, in universities and schools, there are qualified teachers who know various ways of explaining and motivating students. Moreover, they create a week, semester, year and whole course plan, following which students can track their progress and be more organised. Therefore, artificial intelligence or the internet can not fully substitute qualified teachers and education.

In conclusion, modern technologies have their advantages and features which can boost and help with obtaining new information and analysing it. However, they can not completely replace education and teachers. Also, the concept of education has already changed and in the 21st century it will even develop which means, in the future new technologies can be more vital and useful. Thus, people should be open to new technologies and change their old concepts.