With the development of technology children are now living in a world that is completely different to what it was 50 years ago. What problems does this cause for the society and family?

The rapid advancement in technology has changed the way the younger generation spends their time compared to 50 years ago. This essay will suggest that the bigger problems of technology for society are erosion of social skills and exposure to harmful content, and it will then argue that the effects of technological advancement on families are reduced connection with each other and reduced emotional connection that is required for healthy relationships.

The foremost problems in society are that children grow up with no social skills and are exposed to dangerous and misleading content. As screens have replaced the face to face interaction, young generation is spending more time scrolling through social media platform and playing games. As a result, they are hardly able to develop the communication and interpersonal skills that are required in developing societies. Furthermore, social media and other tech platforms are full of missleading and dangerous information which affects the morals and ethics during the formative years of a child. For example, in Western countries, there is increasing radicalization among young students, causing a mess around the societies by supporting extreme and violent ideas and policies.

The most significant impacts of technological enhancement and consumption on families are that the connection of children with their parents is reducing day by day, and the emotional bond with their families is reduced. Most of the parents did not grow up with smartphones or other devices, and due to that fact, they don’t know what their children are consuming or aware of the world their children live in. Furthermore, children spending most of their time on such equipment don’t have quality time with their families, which is required to have a good emotional connection among family members. A research study at Stanford University in the USA concluded that individuals who spend an average of 8 hours a day gaming and consuming social content are prone to anxiety, a weaker emotional connection with family, and a distracted mind.

In conclusion, utilization of technology among the younger generation has increased, and poses a serious problem for society in terms of adults with underdeveloped social skills, and it also affects families with unhealthy relationship of childrens with their parents and lower emotional bonds.