With the growing population of cities, more and more people live in homes that have little or no outdoor areas. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days more and more people are moving toward the urban areas from villages, which causes the population of the cities to grow too high. Due to these relocations and limited amount of land, many citizens have to live in houses with small or no backyards, especially apartment owners. In my opinion, this is a negative development, and the below essay will give explanations for my viewpoint.

To begin with, the first and foremost reason for this drawback is the degradation of physical health. Living at home with no outdoor space, means spending less time outside the house and rarely exercising or walking along the street. Consequently, being unable to move regularly can lead to obesity, reduce flexibility and even weaken the immune system. In addition, the human body will lack sun and vitamins which can cause serious problems. Thus, open-air spaces play a significant role in the overall human wellbeing.

Several downsides associated with this practice prove that it is a negative outcome. If people live in congested accommodations, they may not have found any place for relaxation. As a result, they may feel suffocated as well as their children will not have any place for outdoor activities. To cite an example, researches show that the kids who participate in outdoor games are more active and sociable than those children who do not have any gardening area. Moreover, people may suffer from less entertainment with others because of the lack of space where they can meet up and spend some time together.

Taking all aspects into consideration they point me to the conclusion that increasing population are the main reason for people to live in places with little or no outdoor areas which cause a lot of health and mental problems and less social activity.