With the growing population of cities, more and more people live in homes that have little or no outdoor areas. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is undeniable that the vast growth of population has resulted to houses with less outdoor spaces. Thus, there has been much debate whether these consequences are advantageous or detrimental. I personally believe, that this drastic shift towards homes with smaller outdoor areas can be potentially harmful to us.

There are many factors that explain the negative effects of the lack of outdoor areas. First of all, this shortage can deteriorate our health. This is because, the shortage of recreational areas may significantly dissuade us from taking daily exercise, Since there will be no facilities and opportunities provided. For example, the existence of parks and entertainment facilities encourage us to bounce around more. That is mostly because they are easily and freely accessible to us. However, with no such offers we will be discouraged to take an initiative to simply exercise. Moreover, we will be granted a less chance of socializing with others. Outdoors provide us opportunities to interact with the neighbors living in our surroundings. These interactions can be substantially efficient for us as they boost our confidence and help us improve our social skills. Also the fact that we can find prominent number of friends in this way is noteworthy. So outdoors not only enhance our physical health ,but they also elevate our mental. However, with the lack of these places we won’t be able to access these offers. Therefore, there are many positive aspects to the provision of outdoor spaces as they enhance both our mental health and physical wellbeing.

On the other hand, while outdoor spaces offer clear benefits ,the absence of these spaces can also present certain advantages . First of all, we will be bestowed more peace. That is because there will be less people outside which could potentially cause noise pollution. For instance, rambling kids in playgrounds can release extreme noise which could be unpleasant to many. As there may be lots of employees, workers and occupied students who return home to relax. Thus, the less people roam around the neighborhood the less noise pollution will be produced. Additionally, this is correspondent to the less amount of garbage disposal . That is because, the less people accommodate outdoors, the less they’ll be likely to dispose their garbage out. For example, taking those previously mentioned kids in account, if there were to be no space for them to accustom besides their own home then they wouldn’t have to throw their trashes out. They would have to learn how to manage them from the convenience of their own houses in order to keep it clean. Thus they would learn how to maintain the outdoor environment clean as well. Therefore, there can be many advantages associated with the less outdoor environments such as the cleanliness and peacefulness of the environment.

In conclusion, despite all the benefits attributed to the lack of outdoors I firmly believe that the availability of them would be more beneficial as they would encourage us to explore, exercise and interact more and thereby improve our overall physical and mental wellbeing.