With the increase global demand for oil should be opened up to access more resource. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, there is an incline in the demand of petrol and many corporations want to be granted access to untapped area; however, some critics and I are in disagreement with this perspective. I hold the view that exploring new fields for non-renewable energy should be outlawed because it would harm the environment and that there are a plenty of sustainable alternatives.

To commence with, authorities should prohibit the access to undiscovered oil fields for the sake of the ecosystem. To illustrate, when companies drill for petrol, they disturb the biodiversity of the area and its surroundings. Moreover, any leak can lead to a deleterious effect on the soil’s fertility. An eminent example is what happened in the Pacific Ocean five years ago when a high percentage of marine live poisoned as a result of tanks’ leak. Hence, it can be said that exploiting untouched places in search for unsustainable energy resources poses the environment to a prominent risk.

Furthermore, excavating fossil fuels has become pointless because of the availability of clean energy. In other words, if governments subsidize solar, wind, and tidal energy, manufacturer will promptly make a shift to more sustainable resources. This option might be economical by saving monetary funds that are spent on importing petrol derivatives. To exemplify, in German, they lessened their reliance on fossil fuels by a half and achieved economic benefits as well. Therefore, it is crystal clear that green energy is the key for the current power crisis.

In conclusion, after discussing the aforementioned points, it can be reiterated that drilling new fields has significant merits in terms of economy and environment. I am a staunch believer that decision makers should ban digging new fields.