With the latest technological advancements, dating is now possible online. Would you recommend online dating for your single friends? What are the advantages and disadvantages of online dating?

Since tecnology has emergenced, interacting with people has become much easier, due to the new apps that have developed throughout the years. Fewer people meet thei partner in public places or face to face, instead they do it buy using social networks. There are advantages and disadvantages of dating through social media, but I, in turn, would noy reccoment such sites to someone i personally know.

Some of the advantages are that it spares time and give opportunities to meet more people at a time. Firstly, the internet allows you to connect to people whenever you desire to. It does not take several dates to get to get to know your partner because of all the options you have through social media. For example, dating apps ask you questions about yourself and what kind of people you are attracted to, after that process they create a individual profile for you. On this profile they give you information about people you could possibly like, where they live, what their hobbys are and many more things, so even before talking to the person, you get plenty of information about them by only clicking on their profile. Secondly, social networks let you communicate with as many people as you want at one time. For example, when i attended a summer school, I was added into a groupchat where i have talked to many people at once who subsequently became good friends of mine.

However, meeting and dating over the socials has its negative sides too. People might impersonate or pretend to be someone they are not. No matter how long you have talked to someone through the phone, you never know who is behind the screen. What’s more, there are many scammers all around the world, that have bad intentions and want to take advantage of you. To give an example, my friend had met someone on a dating app who would refuse to talk on the phone or facetime. Afterwards, he turned out to be over 15 years older than he had claimed and clearly was onto something else.

In conclusion, hoping to find a partner on social networks has both its pros and cons. Nevertheless, I’d say that if you want to meet a new person and get to know them on a deeper level, you definitely have yo arrange a personal meeting that will be face to face in the beginning of the relationship to really figure out what kind of person they are, and therefore I do not consider online dating a good way of starting a new connection with someone.