With the pressures on today's young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school (eg: physical education and cookery) should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words

In the world of new era, there is a topic that has been debated over the year whether non-academic subjects should not be taught at school so that students can focus on academic subjects. To my perspective, I strongly disagree with this statement. I believe that subjects such as Music or Arts must be taught to students and I am going to explain my opinion in this essay.

Firstly, some people may think these subjects are not as important as academic subjects or even useless, but it is not. For instance, studying Physical Education not only help students to keep fit and have a healthy life but it also enhance the bond between them. They will improve their teamwork, communication skill and make a lot of friends. Such as me, I have played volleyball at school for 3 years and have found plenty of friends that I and they can understand each other easily. Secondly, other subjects include Arts and Cookery can help the pupils to blow their imagination and unlock their creativity. Moreover, by studying these subjects, they will have an opportunity to discover their talent in these subjects or just find it as their hobbies. Additionally, these non-academic subjects play a vital role in helping students relax after a hard time studying academic subjects. Finally, I can say that students can gain a lot of knowledge that academic syllabuses don’t have. For example, students will be able to draw a picture when studying Arts or know how to sing, play the instruments correctly by studying Music. On the top of that, Cookery provides them a crucial skill which needs for their future life.

To conclude, there are no subjects that should be removed from the course. By understanding each subject, you will notice that each of them has its own benefit that cannot be replaced by others.