With the pressures on today's young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school (eg: physical education and cookery) should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words

In the current competitive era, guardians prefer their child to perform better in academics rather than being good in non-academic fields like physical education and cookery. They think that every child should have excellent academic performance. Nonetheless, I disagree to the fact that non-academic subject should be given less priority and should be removed from the school syllabus. Various reasons to disagree on this opinion is explained below.

Firstly, a good student should be better in both academic and non-academic subjects. Academic subjects focus only into theoretical part and give less preference to practical knowledge and ideas. Today’s young people find difficult to cook and do extra activities. Focusing only on academic subject push the students practically downward. Young people in present date are not able engage themselves in physical activities due to academic pressure. To cite an example, if physical education is removed from the syllabus, students are unable to gain knowledge about a variety of sports and physical activities.

Secondly, removing non-academic subjects like sports and cookery can affect’s students’ future life. For example, if they have no knowledge about health, they may suffer from different physical problems in upcoming days. Another example is that if young people are not introduced to life skills like cooking, they should always depend upon someone to cook in the future.

To conclude, non-academic subjects at school be given equal priority as academic subjects. Removal such subjects from the syllabus can create a huge problems and difficulties in students’ lives. Non-academic subject plays a vital role in shaping the future and career of young people.